Organizational Committee:

Dr. Arturo Ayon
Dept. of Physics and Astronomy at UTSA

Dr. Madhavrao (Rao) Govindaraju
SAI Global Technologies, Inc

Dr. Randolph D. Glickman
University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio

Dr. John Grillo
Academic Workforce Programs at NVC

Dr. Kelly Nash
Dept. of Physics and Astronomy at UTSA

Dr. Vasiliki (Vicky) Zorbas Poenitzsch
Southwest Research Institute

Dr. Arturo Ponce
Depart. of Physics and Astronomy at UTSA

Dr. Bharathi Subramaniasiva
Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute, UTSA

Dr. Wilson Terrell
Dept. of Engineering Sciences at Trinity University

Dr. Walt Trybula
Texas State University, San Marcos & Trybula Foundation, Inc., Austin

Dr. Stephen Wellinghoff
Southwest Research Institute

Dr. Miguel Yacaman
Dept. of Physics and Astronomy at UTSA

Dr. Qiaoying Joy Zhou
Academic Workforce Programs at Northwest Vista College


San Antonio Nano-Technology Forum (SANTF)

Networking Lunch Series (2016-2017)


Custom-made Nanoliposome fabrication, from milli-liter to multi-liter scale.


Date: Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Time: 11:30 am – 1:00 pm


XingGuo Cheng, Ph.D.

Principal Scientist
Department of Microencapsulation and Nanomaterials
Div. 01, Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio


Both hydrophobic and hydrophilic drug can be loaded inside either the lipid shell (hydrophobic) or the core (hydrophilic) at high loading efficiency. As a result, Liposome has found a broad range of applications as a nanomedicine for disease treatment and imaging, infection control, vaccine, etc.  One critical challenge is the large scale production of liposome with high quality control (e.g., size, charge, loading efficiency, stability). Here we reported SwRI’s research in fabrication of liposomes from milli liter scale to multi-liter scale.  By adjusting formulation and process environment, a large quantity of high-quality liposome can be fabricated.

Speaker Biography:

Dr. Cheng obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Florida, Gainesville in 2005. Dr. Cheng’s areas of interest and experience include nanomaterials, biomaterials, and connective tissue (tendon, bone and skin) engineering, nanomedicine, and medical device development. Dr. Cheng has authored more than 20 scientific papers in peer-reviewed journals and has presented at over 30 national and international scientific conferences. He has authored six patent applications including two international patents.


 Southwest Research Institute (SwRI)

   Private Dining Room, SwRI Cafeteria*

6220 Culebra Road
San Antonio, Texas 78228-0510



Please RSVP to: on or before May 23, 2016. Please check our website ( for complete program details and upcoming meeting schedule.

*The cafeteria is the first building on your right at the first stop sign coming in from main gate. Please pick-up your lunch (at your own cost) at the cafeteria and join for the seminar. There is no other fee for this event. Directions to the event are given in the website.


SANTF Purpose:

SANTF aims to provide participants with information on the state of nanotechnology research in Greater San Antonio institutions, presents trends in industry and research universities, informs innovative applications of nanotechnology, information related to current work in progress towards establishing national skills standards, details the involvement and support of national professional societies, and the current technician education programs supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The newly formed SANTF strives to build stronger communication and networking opportunities between educational and private businesses, both regionally and nationally; to solidify pipelines in education and stimulate job creation in the Greater San Antonio area in the field of nanotechnology and STEM related fields.    


SANTF brings together researchers, innovators, entrepreneurs, and companies in the Greater San Antonio area working in the areas of nanomaterials and nanotechnology to showcase innovations related to the development and application of nanotechnology and nanomaterials. 


Establish a venue for local researchers, early-stage investors, venture capitalists, and industry leaders to gather and discuss developments in nanotechnology and its applications in the areas of Biomaterials, Energy, Clean Technology, and Sustainability.  

 SANTF brings together major technology players in the area to form strong alliances among the researchers at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA), University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA), Southwest Research Institute (SwRI), Texas Biomedical Research Institute, Alamo Community Colleges, Trinity University, Texas State University in San Marcos, and other educational institutions. SANTF promotes intellectual creativity in the area of nanotechnology that will create a strong nanotechnology base in San Antonio.    

 The forum is expected to spur productive collaborations among the researchers in Greater San Antonio area and promote innovations leading to scientific discoveries and engineering innovations.  SANTF is committed to enhancing San Antonio’s nanotechnology future and establishing the Alamo City as a global leader in nanotechnology.  

Flyers for Past Luncheons: